SVN ignores file extension .so by default – which corrupted my build

I was just working on my current OSGI project which is build with Eclipse PDE headless for multiple platforms.
The Eclipse Deltapack contains a launcher bundle (directory) calledorg.eclipse.equinox.Lauscher.gtk.linux.x86_1.0.200.v20090520 which contains a file called eclipse_1206.so.
This launcher bundle I also committed to my SVN repository for my headless build from the build machine.

I was wondering why my build was always broken and corrupt and I found out that in my SVN repository the eclipse_1206.so file was missing…and indeed it was NOTcommitted.
I first thought I made a mistake, so I removed and recommitted everything. And again, the eclipse_1206.so wasn’t there.

So I started googling and I found this which directed me to this. Apparently *.so files are igored by SVN by default even though there is no svn:ignore property set.

Solution:
In order to solve this I did the following:

  1. Open the file ~/.subversion/config
  2. Remove the comment from the line which starts with # global-ignores
  3. The line looks like this now: global-ignores = *.o *.lo *.la #*# .*.rej *.rej .*~ *~ .#* .DS_Store

As you can see the .so file extension is not defined anymore and suddenly .so files also show up in my SVN Commit Dialog (I am using svnX on MaxOSX).

This also explains a bit my most recent issue I was having with a broken Eclipse build.

I am not too sure if this is a good default by SVN to ignore .so files as those are shared objects in Unix Environments which are important for Multi Platform builds in my case. Anyway I found this out and solved the problem.

 

Simple way :

Right click the file, choose Team -> Add to Version Control

Then the file will be able to be commited.

Leave a Reply

